A thank you, and an early bidding farewell

• Please log in to reply
172 replies to this topic

ArmsAndLegsGuy #1 Posted 24 December 2013 - 12:48 PM

Private

• 4565 battles
  • [PANZR] PANZR

POPULAR

This post will be a bit long, a bit emotional, a bit personal and very sincere. But on the plus side, it will contain video footage of Ola dancing. You have been warned.

A short backstory - As some of you might know, I have been moderating during closed beta before NA/EU, on EU and NA after the release, and now here. That is a timespan of more than 3 years. I started playing sometime around July 2010 during the closed beta, and became a community contributor Moderator and Translator during that time. During the 3+ years I have had the pleasure of meeting a lot of people online, members of the community and staff alike, both in battles, chatting in the garage, on the Skype channels, and on the forums. Some of these people you might know from blogs, like Overlord and Vallter, from Videos, like the bubbly and beautifull Ola, from this server, like Tanitha and KaZanova, and some of them you might never have heard about. 

This post is a personal thank you to all these people, AND a personal thank you to all the members of the world wide World of Tanks community I've been fortunate enough to have had contact with over the last 3 years. (Yes, it also includes those who I have banned on all three servers over time ;) .)

Well, on with the back story : Shortly after release on NA/EU, around April 2011, I was diagnosed with cancer in the stomach, and after a chemotheraphy and radiation session, followed by a surgical procedure which left me offline for the better part of May and June 2011, I thought I had beaten that.