Jump to content


WoT Tank Viewer (v1.0.17)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
91 replies to this topic

amade #1 Posted 27 April 2014 - 10:20 PM

    Benign Troll

  • Moderator
  • 2015 battles
  • 2,917
  • Member since:
    03-08-2012

NOTICE: rextimmy no longer develops or provide support for this application. However, I will try to provide whatever updates I can to keep the last version working.

 

With the introduction of WoT 9.0 Rextimmy has resumed development of WoT Tank Viewer in order to make it compatible with the new HD content.

 

The latest version (1.0.17) as well as some legacy versions can be found in the link(s) below:

https://sites.google.com/site/wottankviewer/downloads (official link)

http://www.amade-wossname.com/wottv/ (mirror)

 

Update 28/5/2015:

To get the application working for WoT 9.8, download the fix from this link:

http://www.mediafire.com/download/k7438dtd275bl33/1.0.1.7_wot9.8_fix.zip

To apply the fix, follow instructions in the included text file.

 

You can find the original thread on NA forums for more info and to find out about any known issues or to report new ones:

http://forum.worldoftanks.com/index.php?/topic/204990-wot-tank-viewer-version-1013/page__view__getlastpost

 

I will keep the ASIA thread updated with any new version release.

 

Screenshots:

 

Spoiler

Edited by amade, 28 May 2015 - 07:25 AM.


mttspiii #2 Posted 27 April 2014 - 11:49 PM

    Major

  • Beta-Tester
  • 35166 battles
  • 17,392
  • [KYLIE] KYLIE
  • Member since:
    04-15-2012

Tank Viewer is back!

 

YEAHH!


I'm fierce and I'm feeling mighty,

I'm a golden girl, I'm an Aphrodite

 

 


fabiensg #3 Posted 28 April 2014 - 01:35 AM

    padder ex machina

  • Member
  • 16932 battles
  • 5,004
  • Member since:
    12-24-2012
Thanks a lot for the heads-up Amade.

 -- T28 Concept --

LT   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15

MT  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15

HT  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15

TD  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15


attilanico #4 Posted 28 April 2014 - 03:35 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 8110 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-16-2013
Great util, many thanks....:)

rextimmy #5 Posted 30 April 2014 - 08:05 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012

Sorry guys i always forget about the asia server even though my account sits on this server :facepalm:

 

I have created a very simple website again for the viewer, this time no paid hosting or anything like, just a very simple google site (the lack of images is on purpose, it's a definite KISS site). The URL mentioned by amade in the first post will remain an official download mirror.

 

https://sites.google.com/site/wottankviewer/

 

 



amade #6 Posted 30 April 2014 - 08:06 AM

    Benign Troll

  • Moderator
  • 2015 battles
  • 2,917
  • Member since:
    03-08-2012
Added link to the new official site of WoT Tank Viewer into the OP.


rextimmy #7 Posted 14 May 2014 - 03:45 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012
Why don't  these forums allow linking to images on imgur?

rextimmy #8 Posted 14 May 2014 - 03:52 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012

Here is the new screenshot dialog in 1.0.16 (also garage is back). It shows a preview on the left and all you save settings on the right. The maximum width/height of the screenshot is determined by your GPU OpenGL drivers. For example my AMD card can handle 16384 x 16384 which is just ridiculously big. So i have clamped the maximum allowed size to 8196 x 8196 or whatever your GPU reports if it is less than that. Every card capable or running this app should at least support 8196 though.

 

Pic



amade #9 Posted 14 May 2014 - 05:01 PM

    Benign Troll

  • Moderator
  • 2015 battles
  • 2,917
  • Member since:
    03-08-2012

An example of tank images taken using the app and used in the community banner :-)

 



rextimmy #10 Posted 14 May 2014 - 05:58 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012
Looks sweet :smile:

Otakubouzu #11 Posted 14 May 2014 - 08:48 PM

    Major

  • Member
  • 17298 battles
  • 10,073
  • Member since:
    10-13-2012

downloading this, linking it to game folder.

 

However garage still won't display. Anyone know why?


Back to World of Tanks for now.


amade #12 Posted 14 May 2014 - 08:55 PM

    Benign Troll

  • Moderator
  • 2015 battles
  • 2,917
  • Member since:
    03-08-2012

View PostOtakubouzu, on 14 May 2014 - 08:48 PM, said:

downloading this, linking it to game folder.

 

However garage still won't display. Anyone know why?

 

1.0.15 does not support the new garages yet so the options to display them are disabled. It will be available in 1.0.16 which will be coming soon.



rextimmy #13 Posted 15 May 2014 - 06:59 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012

I posted this on the EU forum and thought i should post here too:

 

I have discovered one bug actually in the HD loading. If the regular texture is the same size as the HD texture my viewer won't handle this correctly and will fail loading the texture. I have corrected this and added a fix in 1.0.16.

 

Here is what the game does:

 

If the Regular texture is the same size (or larger) than the HD texture than it will completely skip the HD texture and only use the regular texture. Just on another note i have seen some hitbox skins that are shipping with the HD texture full of mip maps, this is wrong and a complete waste of space as only level 0 is ever used. What some seem to be doing is creating one texture from the HD, generating mip maps and using that same texture for both the HD and the regular texture. This is the complete wrong way to do it.


Edited by rextimmy, 15 May 2014 - 07:00 AM.


amade #14 Posted 15 May 2014 - 07:11 AM

    Benign Troll

  • Moderator
  • 2015 battles
  • 2,917
  • Member since:
    03-08-2012
What a terrible waste of resources. I can't imagine their loading times if people use hitbox skins with inflated file sizes. Come to think of it, why even bother having HD hitbox skins? They're not exactly eye candy so why would they need HD versions of it? They might as well just disable loading HD textures to save on resources.


rextimmy #15 Posted 15 May 2014 - 07:20 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012
For 1.0.16 i have added in a warning in the log if it detects the regular texture size is the same or larger than the HD texture. I have also added in a warning if the HD texure contains more than one level of mip maps.

Edited by rextimmy, 15 May 2014 - 07:24 AM.


Otakubouzu #16 Posted 15 May 2014 - 08:10 AM

    Major

  • Member
  • 17298 battles
  • 10,073
  • Member since:
    10-13-2012

so thats why on some HD skin when you zoomed in it'll back to default color?

 

Thats... abit problematic.


Back to World of Tanks for now.


rextimmy #17 Posted 15 May 2014 - 08:34 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012

View PostOtakubouzu, on 15 May 2014 - 10:10 AM, said:

so thats why on some HD skin when you zoomed in it'll back to default color?

 

Thats... abit problematic.

 

Yes, when zoomed in close you are seeing the mip map level 0 which will be the HD texture if the tank has one (of course if is setup correctly and not like what i mention above). Skinning tanks post 9.0 is a little more involved now.


Edited by rextimmy, 15 May 2014 - 08:36 AM.


Kenn_Ethic #18 Posted 15 May 2014 - 08:47 AM

    Captain

  • Beta-Tester
  • 14765 battles
  • 1,379
  • Member since:
    04-17-2012
No wonder I couldn't load a Centurion 7 skin in the Tank Viewer, it was just a red texture with a text "Failed Texture" something like that. I didn't include its mip maps when I was editing it.


rextimmy #19 Posted 15 May 2014 - 08:52 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012

View PostKenn_Ethic, on 15 May 2014 - 10:47 AM, said:

No wonder I couldn't load a Centurion 7 skin in the Tank Viewer, it was just a red texture with a text "Failed Texture" something like that. I didn't include its mip maps when I was editing it.

 

Actually that could be something else, the problem i describe above will generally result in a black texture. I could be wrong, can i see the skin files for the tank just to confirm?



rextimmy #20 Posted 15 May 2014 - 09:05 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 8212 battles
  • 101
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012

Just an insight into the colors you may see in the viewer and what the potential problem may be. The warning and error log may shed further light on the issue depending on what has happened.

 

Red "texture failed" texture:

  • Unsupported dds format.
  • Texture file not found.

 

Black texture:

  • Bug in the viewers texture loading.
  • Texture mip map pyramid is incomplete.
  • Generic texture loading error (see point 1).

 

Whenever you see a black texture this generally means the texture is incomplete to the OpenGL driver and could have failed for a number of reasons.


Edited by rextimmy, 15 May 2014 - 09:06 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users