Jump to content


Unable to Update? Read Here for a Solution


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

Elite911 #1 Posted 28 January 2016 - 05:25 PM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

Hello, all,

 

Due to the large amounts of threads that players are creating I decided to place the solution here for easier finding. Credits go to hshmt for the solution. Source. To make things even easier I've also added screenshots for each step in spoilers. Please note these steps are for Windows operating systems, if you are using Mac some steps may be different for you.

 

WARNING: Be sure to backup your WoTLauncher.cfg before attempting step 3.

 

Step 1.

Go to your World of Tanks installation directory. For me it's found in D:\Games\World_of_Tanks  (this may be different for you).

 

Spoiler

 

Step 2.

Open the file called WoTLauncher.cfg. Note you may get an error saying Windows can't open this file like this:

Spoiler

 

Simply check the box that says select a program from a list of installed programs, then click OK. You will then see something like this: 

Spoiler

 

Select one of your text editor programs, such as the default Windows Notepad, then click OK. Note: If you do not want to use the text editor program to always be the default program to open .cfg files, uncheck the box that says always use the selected program to open this kind of file. If you have Notepad++, you can simply right click the file then select edit with Notepad++ and skip having to do that. If you do not have Notepad++, you can download it here: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

In this tutorial I will be showing you how to edit it in Notepad++, but it's basically the same as using other text editors, such as Notepad.

 

Step 3.

Once you have the file open you will see something like this: 

Spoiler

 

Look for the part where it says <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item> (can be found on line 23 in Notepad++), you will notice that there's a space before the </item>, remove the space so it reads as . <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/</item> then click save.

 

Step 4.

Run the launcher again and it should now update. If it doesn't, recheck to make sure there's no space before the <item>. If there is no space, please paste your WoTLauncher.log in this thread which can be found in your World of Tanks installation directory.

 

If you need further help, you can contact Support here: https://asia.wargaming.net/support/ be sure to also attach your WoTLauncher.log in your ticket so they can see what's wrong and assist you in fixing it.

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


Aoyama_Blue_Mountain #2 Posted 28 January 2016 - 06:22 PM

    Is the order a blue mountain?

  • Beta-Tester
  • 65557 battles
  • 7,082
  • [PYRO] PYRO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

Now the question is why is there a typo, and why only some people have it.

 

 


I'm a simple person - If you don't dare to upload your replays, I assume you downloaded your skill


krispavich #3 Posted 29 January 2016 - 12:34 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 72 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    01-03-2016

Hi.  Elite911,

 

thanks for your instructions, but they are applicable to Windows programs, not on mac.

Can you be good enough to assist us with macs.  

 

many thanks



Elite911 #4 Posted 29 January 2016 - 04:45 PM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View Postkrispavich, on 29 January 2016 - 03:04 PM, said:

Hi.  Elite911,

 

thanks for your instructions, but they are applicable to Windows programs, not on mac.

Can you be good enough to assist us with macs.  

 

many thanks

Hello,

 

Just simply edit the WoTLauncher.cfg file in your World of Tanks installation directory like above.

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


S_J #5 Posted 29 January 2016 - 06:48 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 28979 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    04-05-2014

Elite911,

 

Many thanks for the above "blow by blow" "fix", I used Text wrangler for my MAC, a two minute download (FREE) a correction in the file and "good to go" Many thanks again, rounds now going down range "happy tanker"

 

Sandy J



blunderstruck #6 Posted 30 January 2016 - 07:59 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 17062 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    06-29-2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you. I used sublime text on my power book. All seems to be fine once more.

Might add some key words: mac, critical error, connecting to update service, application cannot continue, update paused.



13alexander #7 Posted 30 January 2016 - 08:40 AM

    First lieutenant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 27459 battles
  • 524
  • Member since:
    09-23-2012

View PostElite911, on 28 January 2016 - 05:25 PM, said:

Hello, all,

 

Due to the large amounts of threads that players are creating I decided to place the solution here for easier finding. Credits go to hshmt for the solution. Source. To make things even easier I've also added screenshots for each step in spoilers. Please note these steps are for Windows operating systems, if you are using Mac some steps may be different for you.

 

WARNING: Be sure to backup your WoTLauncher.cfg before attempting step 3.

 

Step 1.

Go to your World of Tanks installation directory. For me it's found in D:\Games\World_of_Tanks  (this may be different for you).

 

Spoiler

 

Step 2.

Open the file called WoTLauncher.cfg. Note you may get an error saying Windows can't open this file like this:

Spoiler

 

Simply check the box that says select a program from a list of installed programs, then click OK. You will then see something like this: 

Spoiler

 

Select one of your text editor programs, such as the default Windows Notepad, then click OK. Note: If you do not want to use the text editor program to always be the default program to open .cfg files, uncheck the box that says always use the selected program to open this kind of file. If you have Notepad++, you can simply right click the file then select edit with Notepad++ and skip having to do that. If you do not have Notepad++, you can download it here: https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

In this tutorial I will be showing you how to edit it in Notepad++, but it's basically the same as using other text editors, such as Notepad.

 

Step 3.

Once you have the file open you will see something like this: 

Spoiler

 

Look for the part where it says <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item> (can be found on line 23 in Notepad++), you will notice that there's a space before the </item>, remove the space so it reads as . <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/</item> then click save.

 

Step 4.

Run the launcher again and it should now update. If it doesn't, recheck to make sure there's no space before the <item>. If there is no space, please paste your WoTLauncher.log in this thread which can be found in your World of Tanks installation directory.

 

If you need further help, you can contact Support here: https://asia.wargaming.net/support/ be sure to also attach your WoTLauncher.log in your ticket so they can see what's wrong and assist you in fixing it.

 

Regards,

Elite911.

 

If this is WG error, won't a mini-patch solve this? oh, you can't have a mini-patch if can't update, i get it :)

 


Edited by 13alexander, 30 January 2016 - 08:47 AM.


Aoyama_Blue_Mountain #8 Posted 30 January 2016 - 08:41 AM

    Is the order a blue mountain?

  • Beta-Tester
  • 65557 battles
  • 7,082
  • [PYRO] PYRO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

View Post13alexander, on 30 January 2016 - 08:40 AM, said:

 

If this is WG error, won't a mini-patch solve this?

 

But they can't patch

I'm a simple person - If you don't dare to upload your replays, I assume you downloaded your skill


Elite911 #9 Posted 30 January 2016 - 09:12 AM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View Post13alexander, on 30 January 2016 - 11:10 AM, said:

 

If this is WG error, won't a mini-patch solve this? oh, you can't have a mini-patch if can't update, i get it :)

 

 

Like Bluefunk said, how will a micro-patch fix something when you can't patch? This guide will fix it for them, and it's really simple to do.

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


moyzie #10 Posted 31 January 2016 - 09:27 AM

    Tinfoil Theorist

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 11080 battles
  • 235
  • [AAS] AAS
  • Member since:
    11-19-2014

:medal:you're a legend dude!!!! :bajan:

 I have been looking for a week :mellow:on how to fix my launcher critical error that has had me according to all the FAQ's uninstall re install power cycle everything and then start deleting everything :facepalm:

 

I used text wrangler and saw the space straight away fixed and back in game :bush:

this post should be pinned..

 



Elite911 #11 Posted 31 January 2016 - 01:32 PM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View Postmoyzie, on 31 January 2016 - 11:57 AM, said:

:medal:you're a legend dude!!!! :bajan:

 I have been looking for a week :mellow:on how to fix my launcher critical error that has had me according to all the FAQ's uninstall re install power cycle everything and then start deleting everything :facepalm:

 

I used text wrangler and saw the space straight away fixed and back in game :bush:

this post should be pinned..

 

 

Hello,

 

You're welcome, glad it fixed it for you. Also, it is pinned. :P

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


Krispycool #12 Posted 02 February 2016 - 01:57 AM

    Corporal

  • Member
  • 56761 battles
  • 19
  • [SAS1] SAS1
  • Member since:
    07-06-2014
I tried the fix but no joy this is my launcher log

Attached Files

  • Attached File   WoTLauncher.log   69.74K


Elite911 #13 Posted 02 February 2016 - 02:08 AM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View PostKrispycool, on 02 February 2016 - 04:27 AM, said:

I tried the fix but no joy this is my launcher log

 

Hello,

 

Can you try running the launcher as an administrator?

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


alexanderwhite #14 Posted 03 February 2016 - 06:56 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 5933 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    12-01-2014

View PostElite911, on 29 January 2016 - 04:45 PM, said:

Hello,

 

Just simply edit the WoTLauncher.cfg file in your World of Tanks installation directory like above.

 

Regards,

Elite911.

Hi there

I have found the same issue,  I can edit it but it never seems to say in the edited format.  I run the client, it fails, then I check the file only to despair when it is the same as before I edited it,  even after saving multiple times.

Regards

Alexanderwhite


Edited by alexanderwhite, 03 February 2016 - 07:02 AM.


Elite911 #15 Posted 03 February 2016 - 11:46 AM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View Postalexanderwhite, on 03 February 2016 - 09:26 AM, said:

Hi there

I have found the same issue,  I can edit it but it never seems to say in the edited format.  I run the client, it fails, then I check the file only to despair when it is the same as before I edited it,  even after saving multiple times.

Regards

Alexanderwhite

 

Hello,

 

You on an administrator account? Right click the file and go to Properties then click on the Security tab and see if you do have permissions to modify / write.

 

A thing you could try is creating the file itself, so just copy the contents of the current file and then put it in a new one, then edit the file to make it correct and save it as WoTLauncher.cfg. See if that works.

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


alexanderwhite #16 Posted 04 February 2016 - 07:09 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 5933 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    12-01-2014

View PostElite911, on 03 February 2016 - 11:46 AM, said:

 

Hello,

 

You on an administrator account? Right click the file and go to Properties then click on the Security tab and see if you do have permissions to modify / write.

 

A thing you could try is creating the file itself, so just copy the contents of the current file and then put it in a new one, then edit the file to make it correct and save it as WoTLauncher.cfg. See if that works.

 

Regards,

Elite911.

 

Hello there

Thank you for your suggestion.  I tried to create a separate file and moved the old one to a removable disk but, alas, this attempt failed... :-(.  Im just wondering if I were to download the game in full again onto a different user,  whether this would work?  I will try it this morning, hopefully it will have worked by this arvo.

Regards

Alexanderwhite



Elite911 #17 Posted 04 February 2016 - 04:01 PM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View Postalexanderwhite, on 04 February 2016 - 09:39 AM, said:

 

Hello there

Thank you for your suggestion.  I tried to create a separate file and moved the old one to a removable disk but, alas, this attempt failed... :-(.  Im just wondering if I were to download the game in full again onto a different user,  whether this would work?  I will try it this morning, hopefully it will have worked by this arvo.

Regards

Alexanderwhite

 

Hello,

 

You can try reinstalling it again. Let me know if it does work for you or if it doesn't.

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


alexanderwhite #18 Posted 04 February 2016 - 05:36 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 5933 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    12-01-2014

View PostElite911, on 04 February 2016 - 04:01 PM, said:

 

Hello,

 

You can try reinstalling it again. Let me know if it does work for you or if it doesn't.

 

Regards,

Elite911.

Hello,

You asked me to inform you if it worked so here i am.  Im glad it finally worked.  Thank you for all the help you have given me.  I really really appreciate it.  

Regards

Alexanderwhite



Elite911 #19 Posted 04 February 2016 - 08:39 PM

    Captain

  • Senior Moderator
  • 11415 battles
  • 1,396
  • [B2DV] B2DV
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012

View Postalexanderwhite, on 04 February 2016 - 08:06 PM, said:

Hello,

You asked me to inform you if it worked so here i am.  Im glad it finally worked.  Thank you for all the help you have given me.  I really really appreciate it.  

Regards

Alexanderwhite

 

Hello,

 

Glad to hear it's working now. You're welcome.

 

Regards,

Elite911.


 

 


moyzie #20 Posted 06 February 2016 - 02:54 PM

    Tinfoil Theorist

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 11080 battles
  • 235
  • [AAS] AAS
  • Member since:
    11-19-2014

Hi Elite911, 

 

I have had this happen now 3 times since I have posted the thank you here. I use a iMac and installed with the wrapper not using parallels or a virtual machine.  The first time was a bit of a headache but after downloading text wrangler and just slowly going through the lines I worked it out and found the line.. 

The second Time I used the same technique you have suggested here, then I tested something after doing it. I'll post the instructions here. 

For those that don't want to use a text editor or have the know how to edit files here is a simple way to restore your game.

 

If you choose the whole folder then it will take some time to replace :amazed:(up a couple of hours) all the files in the folder depending on how many recordings you have if you have it recording all games played. So I suggest you only restore the WoTlauncher.cfg file it takes less than 30 sec. to do it 

edit note: click the pictures to enlarge them I don't know why they are so small sorry. 

FOR MAC USERS.. 

click and open/enter  time machine 

 click time machine .png

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

 

go back 2 or 3 update windows, or a day if you haven't been able to play for a while.  Your world of tanks folder by default is in documents, unless you installed some where else.

world of tanks folder.png 

                                                                                                                                                                                                               

 

 open world_of_tanks  folder and down the list of files find  file  WoTLaucher.cfg highlight it by single clicking it. Then click restore below the window. 

 

wotlauncher.cfg.png

                                                                                                                                                                                                              

 

 wait for it to finish replacing the file. Once it is finished you should now be able to play world of tanks. 

hope this helps the Mac users. 

 

 


Edited by moyzie, 08 February 2016 - 04:45 AM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users