Jump to content


Unable to Update? Read Here for a Solution


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

alexanderwhite #21 Posted 07 February 2016 - 07:08 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 5933 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    12-01-2014

View Postmoyzie, on 06 February 2016 - 02:54 PM, said:

Hi Elite911, 

 

I have had this happen now 3 times since I have posted the thank you here. I use a iMac and installed with the wrapper not using parallels or a virtual machine.  The first time was a bit of a headache but after downloading text wrangler and just slowly going through the lines I worked it out and found the line.. 

The second Time I used the same technique you have suggested here, then I tested something after doing it. I'll post the instructions here. 

For those that don't want to use a text editor or have the know how to edit files here is a simple way to restore your game.

 

If you choose the whole folder then it will take some time to replace all the files in the folder depending on how many recordings you have if you have it recording all games played. So I suggest you only restore the WoTlauncher.cfg file it takes less than 30 sec. to do it 

 

FOR MAC USERS.. 

click and open/enter  time machine 

 click time machine .png

                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

 

go back 2 or 3 update windows, or a day if you haven't been able to play for a while.  Your world of tanks folder by default is in documents, unless you installed some where else.

world of tanks folder.png 

                                                                                                                                                                                                               

 

 open world_of_tanks  folder and down the list of files find  file  WoTLaucher.cfg highlight it by single clicking it. Then click restore below the window. 

 

wotlauncher.cfg.png

                                                                                                                                                                                                              

 

 wait for it to finish replacing the file. Once it is finished you should now be able to play world of tanks. 

hope this helps the Mac users. 

 

 

Ooh, this sounds interesting.  I will try this if it fails again.  Thanks for this!

Regards

alexanderwhite



Markovy #22 Posted 25 February 2016 - 11:38 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 4527 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    05-24-2015

I have been unable to play WoT on either my Mac or my PC for weeks now... the solutions provided by customer service has not worked...

 

"Critical Error

Unable to connect to update service

The application cannot continue

For details see log file."

 

Have re-installed on both computers...

 

SAD


Edited by Markovy, 25 February 2016 - 11:43 AM.

"Toughen up solider!"

teysanook #23 Posted 25 February 2016 - 11:46 AM

    Major

  • Forum Moderator
  • 31274 battles
  • 2,776
  • [T1RKX] T1RKX
  • Member since:
    03-09-2012

View PostMarkovy, on 25 February 2016 - 10:38 AM, said:

I have been unable to play WoT on either my Mac or my PC for weeks now... the solutions provided by customer service has not worked...

 

"Critical Error

Unable to connect to update service

The application cannot continue

For details see log file."

 

Have re-installed on both

 

SAD

 

Could you upload your WoTLauncher.log and WoTLauncher,cfg to mediafire.com?


Markovy #24 Posted 11 March 2016 - 09:30 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 4527 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    05-24-2015

Thanks,

 

I have uploaded the two files from my Mac to Mediafire

 

http://www.mediafire.com/download/2gacl78h0xg7jrs/WoTLauncher.cfg

http://www.mediafire.com/download/b4penwyey9htbfh/WOTLauncher.log

 

Having very bad WoT withdrawal symptoms... help appreciated. Ta


"Toughen up solider!"

moyzie #25 Posted 11 March 2016 - 01:25 PM

    Tinfoil Theorist

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 11084 battles
  • 235
  • [AAS] AAS
  • Member since:
    11-19-2014

View PostMarkovy, on 11 March 2016 - 09:30 AM, said:

Thanks,

 

I have uploaded the two files from my Mac to Mediafire

 

http://www.mediafire.com/download/2gacl78h0xg7jrs/WoTLauncher.cfg

http://www.mediafire.com/download/b4penwyey9htbfh/WOTLauncher.log

 

Having very bad WoT withdrawal symptoms... help appreciated. Ta

 

on your mac can you follow the instructions I have posted on the bottom of page 1 of this thread. You need to  go back to the date of the last time you were able to play, and then back another day or two so that you can get the WoTlauncher.cfg file that worked and click restore then. 

 

I'm not sure about PC though 

Good luck mate!! 



moyzie #26 Posted 11 March 2016 - 01:38 PM

    Tinfoil Theorist

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 11084 battles
  • 235
  • [AAS] AAS
  • Member since:
    11-19-2014

View PostMarkovy, on 11 March 2016 - 09:30 AM, said:

Thanks,

 

I have uploaded the two files from my Mac to Mediafire

 

http://www.mediafire.com/download/2gacl78h0xg7jrs/WoTLauncher.cfg

http://www.mediafire.com/download/b4penwyey9htbfh/WOTLauncher.log

 

Having very bad WoT withdrawal symptoms... help appreciated. Ta

also I notice in your WoTlauncher.cfg file you are missing 4 lines compared to mine on my mac desktop they are between

 

<downloading_speed_limit>0</downloading_speed_limit>

 

and 

 

<launcher_ver>9c.581</launcher_ver>

 

the numbers may be different but your missing a few lines 

 

    <connections_limit>200</connections_limit>
    <display_recovery>0</display_recovery>
    <display_scaling>1</display_scaling>
    <window_scaling>0</window_scaling>

 

I am not sure what they do but you don't have those lines 

hope that helps a little more :D 

 



teysanook #27 Posted 11 March 2016 - 02:05 PM

    Major

  • Forum Moderator
  • 31274 battles
  • 2,776
  • [T1RKX] T1RKX
  • Member since:
    03-09-2012

View PostMarkovy, on 11 March 2016 - 08:30 AM, said:

Thanks,

 

I have uploaded the two files from my Mac to Mediafire

 

http://www.mediafire.com/download/2gacl78h0xg7jrs/WoTLauncher.cfg

http://www.mediafire.com/download/b4penwyey9htbfh/WOTLauncher.log

 

Having very bad WoT withdrawal symptoms... help appreciated. Ta

 

Update server address in your launcher config file is incorrect. There is excessive space.

 

You can fix it by open WoTLauncher.cfg and edit it by yourself.

 

At line; " <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item>", please remove space after "http://update.worldoftanks.asia/". Then save your editing and you should be fine for connect to update server.

 

or

 

Just download this WoTLauncher.cfg file and replace one in your WoT folder with this file.



Markovy #28 Posted 11 March 2016 - 05:37 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 4527 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    05-24-2015

OMG!!!  It worked... I am back in the game after weeks... months out of being out of action!!

 

Hey awesome help guys!  Huge thank you from a kiwi in Auckland NZ.

 

Thank you thank you!!!


"Toughen up solider!"

justinegagz #29 Posted 27 May 2016 - 08:38 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 2952 battles
  • 3
  • [DFTR] DFTR
  • Member since:
    11-30-2012

View Postteysanook, on 11 March 2016 - 02:05 PM, said:

 

Update server address in your launcher config file is incorrect. There is excessive space.

 

You can fix it by open WoTLauncher.cfg and edit it by yourself.

 

At line; " <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item>", please remove space after "http://update.worldoftanks.asia/". Then save your editing and you should be fine for connect to update server.

 

or

 

Just download this WoTLauncher.cfg file and replace one in your WoT folder with this file.

Thanks it worked :)



EricaHartmann #30 Posted 03 June 2016 - 09:53 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta-Tester
  • 16476 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    06-05-2012
uhmm... guys, help?
i don't see that:  "At line; " <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item>", please remove space after "http://update.worldoftanks.asia/". Then save your editing and you should be fine for connect to update server." solution here.. :(

Attached Files

  • Attached File   cfg.png   397.13K


teysanook #31 Posted 03 June 2016 - 10:41 AM

    Major

  • Forum Moderator
  • 31274 battles
  • 2,776
  • [T1RKX] T1RKX
  • Member since:
    03-09-2012

View PostEricaHartmann, on 03 June 2016 - 08:53 AM, said:

uhmm... guys, help?
i don't see that:  "At line; " <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item>", please remove space after "http://update.worldoftanks.asia/". Then save your editing and you should be fine for connect to update server." solution here.. :(

 

Your case isn't incorrect patch URL. Yours is missing the whole line that contain patch URL.

 

Please upload your WoTLauncher.cfg to file hosting site such as mediafire.com or Drobbox. Then post download link here.

 

or

 

You could fix it by yourself.

 

Please look at the line 

 

Block Quote

<supported_langs>en,ms,fil,th,id,zh_sg,zh_tw,ko,ja,vi</supported_langs>

 

 

There should be

 

Block Quote

 

    <stats_service_url>http://wgusst-asia.wargaming.net</stats_service_url>
    <customer_support_service_url/>
    <patch_info_urls>
        <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia</item>
    </patch_info_urls>
</info>

 

 

 

 



EricaHartmann #32 Posted 03 June 2016 - 01:26 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta-Tester
  • 16476 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    06-05-2012

View Postteysanook, on 03 June 2016 - 02:41 AM, said:

 

Your case isn't incorrect patch URL. Yours is missing the whole line that contain patch URL.

 

Please upload your WoTLauncher.cfg to file hosting site such as mediafire.com or Drobbox. Then post download link here.

 

or

 

You could fix it by yourself.

 

Please look at the line 

 

 

 

There should be

 

 

 

 

 

so i tried doing what you instructed me to do, and now it's updating! :)
i hope it'll run now.. :(
i was able to play WoT yesterday after updating my client to 9.15, but since this morning i cant launch WoT. i dunno what happened :(

but fingers cross, hope it runs now! thanks alot sir!!



hughgene #33 Posted 24 June 2016 - 04:24 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta-Tester
  • 19521 battles
  • 15
  • [DFTR] DFTR
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012
Spoiler


hughgene #34 Posted 24 June 2016 - 04:29 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta-Tester
  • 19521 battles
  • 15
  • [DFTR] DFTR
  • Member since:
    04-18-2012

just updated my 9.15

 

i cant see your line 23 "At line; " <item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item>", please remove space after "http://update.worldoftanks.asia/". Then save your editing and you should be fine for connect to update server." solution here.. :(

Spoiler

 pls help

 

thank you



teysanook #35 Posted 24 June 2016 - 05:37 AM

    Major

  • Forum Moderator
  • 31274 battles
  • 2,776
  • [T1RKX] T1RKX
  • Member since:
    03-09-2012

View Posthughgene, on 24 June 2016 - 03:24 AM, said:

Spoiler

 

You have to add update server address by yourself.

 

Spoiler


Crunchy121_CrunchyDucky #36 Posted 04 August 2016 - 08:58 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 552 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    10-18-2015
there's no <item> on line 23 instead theres a ​<lang>en</lang>

Attached Files

  • Attached File   cxdfvgzdsgdfgsz.PNG   114.64K

Edited by Crunchy121_CrunchyDucky, 04 August 2016 - 09:02 PM.


Crunchy121_CrunchyDucky #37 Posted 05 August 2016 - 09:54 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 552 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    10-18-2015

View Postteysanook, on 24 June 2016 - 05:37 AM, said:

 

You have to add update server address by yourself.

 

Spoiler

 

  this helped! ^_^ now i need to clear up some space in my C disk

Aeronycro #38 Posted 12 October 2016 - 11:11 AM

    Private

  • Member
  • 14634 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-22-2015

Hey there,

 

I'm having issues with my game client "Unable to connect to update service" and I read the earlier replies in this thread saying is to remove the space<item>http://update.worldoftanks.asia/ </item>", please remove space after "http://update.worldoftanks.asia/".  I'm using windows 10 and I opened my cfg file but there's no  space between.

 

Can anyone help?



HiddenThunder #39 Posted 15 June 2017 - 10:13 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 1809 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    05-27-2015

So I tried all the options here but I still get this Error, any help?

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   Screenshot (3).png   411.84K


CaBzZ #40 Posted 12 July 2017 - 01:32 PM

    Private

  • Beta-Tester
  • 22335 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-20-2012
I am still getting this error.. tried alsmost all possible fix but still no luck.. :( I have no issues with this since 2012, but when I came back,, got this issue.. :(

Edited by CaBzZ, 12 July 2017 - 01:33 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users