Jump to content


How to copy WOT Folder and paste to another Computer

Computer World of Tanks

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

emil256 #1 Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:47 PM

    Private

  • Beta-Tester
  • 2846 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    08-21-2012
I don't wanna spend a Time again for 6hours downloading the WOT game,
I don't know how to copy the game folder, what USB GB size i need to copy
the entire Game please help. and where to paste it?


~Thanks for helping.

MagicalFlyingFox #2 Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:50 PM

    Major

  • Beta-Tester
  • 24559 battles
  • 10,245
  • [PYRO] PYRO
  • Member since:
    10-03-2012
ctrl+c WorldOfTanks folder in the games folder in your hard drive. gonna need an external HDD

emil256 #3 Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:50 PM

    Private

  • Beta-Tester
  • 2846 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    08-21-2012
ermm i have a 32GB usb .-. help.

Bounty #4 Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:55 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Forum Moderator
  • 11881 battles
  • 365
  • [NZAD] NZAD
  • Member since:
    12-11-2012

View Postemil256, on 04 March 2017 - 04:50 PM, said:

ermm i have a 32GB usb .-. help.

 

My World of Tanks file size at the current moment is: 27.4 GB.

 

Hopefully this helps you,

 

Cheers,

Bounty



emil256 #5 Posted 04 March 2017 - 01:59 PM

    Private

  • Beta-Tester
  • 2846 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    08-21-2012

View PostBounty, on 04 March 2017 - 01:55 PM, said:

 

My World of Tanks file size at the current moment is: 27.4 GB.

 

Hopefully this helps you,

 

Cheers,

Bounty

 

ow thanks, btw where i will paste the game?

MagicalFlyingFox #6 Posted 04 March 2017 - 02:05 PM

    Major

  • Beta-Tester
  • 24559 battles
  • 10,245
  • [PYRO] PYRO
  • Member since:
    10-03-2012
i have a 64gb usb and it didn't let me copy it O_o

teysanook #7 Posted 04 March 2017 - 03:23 PM

    Major

  • Forum Moderator
  • 30644 battles
  • 2,135
  • [T1RKX] T1RKX
  • Member since:
    03-09-2012

View PostMagicalFlyingFox, on 04 March 2017 - 01:05 PM, said:

i have a 64gb usb and it didn't let me copy it O_o

 

Your usb has FAT32 file system?

ผลตอบรับของงาน Wargaming Thailand Game Show Big Festival 2016

กดเข้าไปทำแบบสอบถามได้ที่นี่

 

 


Meverick #8 Posted 04 March 2017 - 09:04 PM

    First lieutenant

  • Member
  • 40443 battles
  • 806
  • Member since:
    06-10-2013

View Postemil256, on 04 March 2017 - 11:29 AM, said:

 

ow thanks, btw where i will paste the game?

 

Yes the Game folder, also try to keep the same path. eg. if it was C:\Games in older computer keep it same in new computer. 

kersh #9 Posted 05 March 2017 - 04:50 AM

    Sergeant

  • Member
  • 19675 battles
  • 122
  • [PERTH] PERTH
  • Member since:
    11-29-2012
Maybe try deleting your replays

stewiejp #10 Posted 05 March 2017 - 06:32 AM

    Captain

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 34239 battles
  • 1,281
  • [-1AR-] -1AR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2013

I regularly copy old clients (before a patch) onto another hard drive - the method works as described above (simply copy and paste the WoT folder in its entirety). Yes, deleting replays and screenshots will make it a bit smaller however replay files are pretty small. 

It should not matter which drive (C etc) you go for, doesn't affect me in the slightest. 

 

Maybe format the USB stick then try copying it on there. Can't see why it would not work other than the FAT32 system.


                                                                                                                                                  stewiejp on youtube #getonboard

neokai #11 Posted 06 March 2017 - 09:42 AM

    SealClub Number 9

  • Forum Moderator
  • 33128 battles
  • 6,803
  • [CROWN] CROWN
  • Member since:
    06-07-2013

Moved to a more appropriate sub-forum.

 

~neokai


Spoiler

ugottabekittenme #12 Posted 06 March 2017 - 07:37 PM

    First lieutenant

  • Member
  • 589 battles
  • 952
  • Member since:
    04-12-2015
You also need to make sure that direct X is installed. Start the launcher so it does the required checks, then once it starts to download close it and then copy the contents of the Updates folder from one computer to the next (or just the whole game folder). Run again and it will see the install/program files are there and load the game.

Proloser #13 Posted 06 March 2017 - 11:21 PM

    Major

  • Member
  • 20351 battles
  • 3,695
  • [TAM] TAM
  • Member since:
    07-13-2014
It would be a better idea to buy an external (USB) hard drive and copy it to that than to use a USB flash stick. You'll have more room as well, so you can store multiple versions of WoT to watch older replays if you want to.

Edited by Proloser, 06 March 2017 - 11:21 PM.

Scrub Reviews (most with memes): T20, T26E4, T-34-3

Kind of Scrub Reviews (no memes 2lazy): T110E5

 

kek


SadSack #14 Posted 27 April 2017 - 11:44 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 13869 battles
  • 250
  • [PERTH] PERTH
  • Member since:
    08-24-2012

I tried this tho had to put in E:/games as drive C: does not have the necessary space.

trying to start the game I got constant 'side by side config errors'.

So I tried adding the -integrity_default_client to game shortcut, but now the client  starts downloading the whole ~35GB or whatever again - which is exactly what I was trying to avoid!

so i tried transferring the files again, its so slow takes hours now i keep getting 'you need permission from the computers administrator to do this' errors. I checked i am indeed logged in as admin!

 

nvm i got fedup and pulled the hard drive out and stuck it in the new pc and transferred the files like that. now it's working and it took 5 min instead of over an hour via ethernet hyper-V adapter

 


Edited by SadSack, 28 April 2017 - 12:02 PM.

 

please remove premium ammo from random battles


IVORK #15 Posted 28 April 2017 - 01:24 PM

    First lieutenant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 13339 battles
  • 926
  • [PYRO] PYRO
  • Member since:
    09-21-2012

It'd be worth deleting the contents of your Updates, replays, screenshots and res_mods\0.9.17.1 folder if you don't have enough room. 

These are all extra, and especially the install folder is not needed. 

 

The install folder only exists so as to store the files so other people can seed them off of you in turn causing you to use more internet & lag.

 

Else there is no harm in doing it in sections. Alternatively you can set it up as a network drive and copy it. (Assuming they're connected to the same router).


Edited by IVORK, 28 April 2017 - 01:29 PM.

*Online interactions not rated by the SERB






Also tagged with Computer, World of Tanks

2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users