About Historical Inaccuracy : Japanese Super-Heavy Tanks

Historical Japan Tanks History O-I

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Field_Marshal_Abe #1 Posted 12 October 2017 - 04:59 PM

Corporal

• 7837 battles

(Well, Most of us are known that most of those Japanese Heavies is fabrication, But I gonna write it anyways)

This articles is made for giving some accurate trivia about tanks in World of Tanks, Not to complain about balancing or arcade mechanics.

At first, When I returned into World of Tanks after my old account was removed due inactivity. I found that a lot of things had changed and added into the game.

The stuff that put my interest on it is Japanese Giant Heavy Tanks. The moment I saw it, I was like "What? Did Japanese also build giant freaking tanks?"

After that, I started playing Japanese HT, It's fun to play, but. because its size, It also gave me some trouble. that also so makes me wonder that "Why WG put such a overly big tank at low tiers?".

So, I searched information about this vehicle, The first information I got is that O-I had 3 variants; 150 tonnes (just known as O-I in-game), 120 tonnes (known as O-Ho in-game), and 100 tonnes (known as O-Ni in-game). That also makes me wonder why these tank are so different from each other and doesn't look like it was modified from each other.

Later I discovered that there's only O-I variation that ever build; The 150 tonnes. Which its prototype is turretless and didn't mounted full-armor. That makes me can confirmed that O-I "experimental" which appeared in-game is pure fabrication

Also, I later found out that the O-Ni and O-Ho is never existed, But based on some concept artworks from the book “Imperial Japanese Army Ground Weapon Guide 1872-1945”. These artworks is basically speculations of "what O-I would have looked like?".

O-I_pict_1.jpg    O-I_super_heavy_tank.jpg

Concept art of the O-I 100 and O-I 120. Both of these never existed in real life.