Jump to content


Massive packet loss at certain port?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

Bitter_Night #1 Posted 08 June 2018 - 02:07 PM

    Corporal

  • Member
  • 6775 battles
  • 38
  • [YETI] YETI
  • Member since:
    07-05-2014

As you can see from the image, once the route hits this lag41 location the packet loss spikes. Anyone got an idea?

This is going directly to the aus server

 


Edited by Bitter_Night, 08 June 2018 - 02:08 PM.


wasaabi #2 Posted 08 June 2018 - 02:35 PM

    This Dude Abides

  • Senior Moderator
  • 20602 battles
  • 6,205
  • [-1AR-] -1AR-
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012
Show that to your ISP

The Dude abides.

 
Spoiler

 


Bitter_Night #3 Posted 08 June 2018 - 06:19 PM

    Corporal

  • Member
  • 6775 battles
  • 38
  • [YETI] YETI
  • Member since:
    07-05-2014
Yer just talked to someone in the same situation, seems like its optus's line (of course it is :facepalm:) from central nsw to the server.

Angmar_ #4 Posted 08 June 2018 - 08:58 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 15780 battles
  • 5
  • [LEFT] LEFT
  • Member since:
    12-28-2014
Not surprised to find out that that's an optus issue, I've been getting serious packet loss to the aus server the past few nights and I'm on Optus

stewiejp #5 Posted 09 June 2018 - 03:50 AM

    #GetOnBoard

  • Community Contributor
  • 39825 battles
  • 1,458
  • [-1AR-] -1AR-
  • Member since:
    06-30-2013
Same boat here (Melbourne - Optus NBN) and the ping plotter looks the same though the old "red bit" is at 203.131.60.31 at stop 11. Glad it's not just me.... 

                    #GetOnBoard Studios - Where the Magic Happens: www.youtube.com/c/stewiejp     https://www.twitch.tv/stewiejp

                                                                                              


Bitter_Night #6 Posted 09 June 2018 - 02:34 PM

    Corporal

  • Member
  • 6775 battles
  • 38
  • [YETI] YETI
  • Member since:
    07-05-2014
Yer, and optus refuses to let me talk to their network team, saying they are going to 'investigate it and get back to me' :sceptic:

I cant play any AU campaign games becasue of this.

LTeacherAU #7 Posted 09 June 2018 - 09:23 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 6163 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    10-16-2012
AM also getting a lot of packet loss when trying to play, havent been on all week so its first time I noticed but cant play without jerking everywhere.... ping is fine. Also Optus NBn from Melbourne

Ensign_Brendoonigan #8 Posted 12 June 2018 - 07:48 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Member
  • 5406 battles
  • 462
  • [WOT-U] WOT-U
  • Member since:
    05-25-2016
Are others still experiencing this? I've still got it and seems to be getting worse.

Ensign

Forever fighting the endless war against those blasted reds!

British Line (Conqueror), Chinese Lines (T34-2, 111 5A & WZ-131), French Line (AMX M4 mle. 45), German Line (Indien Panzer), Italian Line (P43.ter). 

2nd MOE: PZ III/IV, T-34


Co00olCat #9 Posted 12 June 2018 - 08:27 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 10207 battles
  • 0
  • [SABRE] SABRE
  • Member since:
    06-28-2015

Yes, same issue here. Provider: Optus Cable (NSW, Northern Beaches). It started a week ago. Could not detect it at first since was moving to another PC.

No pocket loss when testing with google.com.au or wotasia1.login.wargaming.net.

 

With wotasia3... pocket loss is at about 8% (PingPlotter). First problem comes from lag41.sclarinte01.aapt.net.au

 

Who is hosting WOT server in AU? From the route it looks like iiNet (not confirmed).

 

Thank you.

 

TY



wasaabi #10 Posted 12 June 2018 - 08:46 PM

    This Dude Abides

  • Senior Moderator
  • 20602 battles
  • 6,205
  • [-1AR-] -1AR-
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012
Common theme here is Optus and aapt.  Talk to your ISP.

The Dude abides.

 
Spoiler

 


Co00olCat #11 Posted 13 June 2018 - 03:21 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 10207 battles
  • 0
  • [SABRE] SABRE
  • Member since:
    06-28-2015

After elevating the issue with support -> I got no solution. They are sure that issue is with my ISP, while I am sure, that issue is with their ISP. Sydney WOT server is the only place where I have packets loss... I can be wrong. :(

 

Thank you.

 

Kind regards,

TY



wasaabi #12 Posted 13 June 2018 - 03:31 PM

    This Dude Abides

  • Senior Moderator
  • 20602 battles
  • 6,205
  • [-1AR-] -1AR-
  • Member since:
    07-15-2012
Your ISP is responsible for routing and carriage of your traffic to the server, WG ISP is responsible for carriage back to you.

The Dude abides.

 
Spoiler

 


Captain_Cows #13 Posted 13 June 2018 - 06:14 PM

    Corporal

  • Beta-Tester
  • 43370 battles
  • 23
  • [KANGA] KANGA
  • Member since:
    09-22-2012

Im in WA and with Optus getting bulk packet loss the last 6 days 

 



Hector_05 #14 Posted 13 June 2018 - 07:37 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 14488 battles
  • 0
  • Member since:
    05-31-2016

Hi guys I was talking to Captain Cows earlier tonight thanks mate for your help I have the same issue atm I am talking to Optus atm

Will try a few other things and report back to you guys on my progress.



Hector_05 #15 Posted 13 June 2018 - 07:40 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 14488 battles
  • 0
  • Member since:
    05-31-2016

View PostBitter_Night, on 08 June 2018 - 02:07 PM, said:

As you can see from the image, once the route hits this lag41 location the packet loss spikes. Anyone got an idea?

This is going directly to the aus server

 

 

I got almost the exact same picture Cptn Cows big packet loss on a few hops.

 

 

OK update guys OPTUS said they were having issues what a surprise.  So I also reset my modem and flush my dns the game seems to be working as intended atm.

 

Ok Update 2 same problem back again its the same lag41 aapt server in the above pic dropping packets.


Edited by Hector_05, 13 June 2018 - 09:45 PM.


Bitter_Night #16 Posted 13 June 2018 - 10:58 PM

    Corporal

  • Member
  • 6775 battles
  • 38
  • [YETI] YETI
  • Member since:
    07-05-2014
So I started using WTFast guys, seems to be somewhat stable (been using for a few days)

It's at least playable on AU server now

BraveSirRobin_ #17 Posted 14 June 2018 - 07:09 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 28879 battles
  • 134
  • [-WB-] -WB-
  • Member since:
    09-15-2012

I'm also on Optus, ping to Sydney is 16ms and packet loss is 15%, pretty well worse than playing Singapore at 300ms when the cable is broken.

Does anyone have a solution, apart from switch to Telstra??



Judge_Dredd #18 Posted 14 June 2018 - 08:18 PM

    Private

  • Member
  • 21742 battles
  • 4
  • [W_W] W_W
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

Hmmm... it seems not only Optus NBN, cable or ADSL are experiencing packet loss issues to wotasia3.login.wargaming.net.  I operate over an Optus home mobile wireless broadband connection (don't get me started with the lack available NBN, cable or ADSL2 services at my location lol).  Anyway, typically I get 20-40Mbps down and approx 25-40Mbps up in the evening with pings of around 40-80 ms while in WoT game so a 4G/LTE connection is definitely feasible for playing.

 

For the last week or so up to know, I have have also experienced bad packet loss to wotasia3.login.wargaming.net.  The ping has not really changed (maybe an extra 10-20 ms in game), but the packet loss makes the game virtually unplayable.

 

Tracert to wotasia3.login.wargaming.net... (line highlighted in red are the routers at fault according to PingPlotter)

 

Tracing route to wotasia3.login.wargaming.net [92.223.48.21]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  local.dovado.com [192.168.0.250]
  2    26 ms    29 ms    28 ms  192.168.8.1
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4    39 ms    30 ms    46 ms  10.194.33.145
  5    38 ms    40 ms    44 ms  10.194.120.2
  6    47 ms    31 ms    44 ms  10.194.120.13
  7    44 ms    30 ms    38 ms  10.194.120.206
  8    39 ms    37 ms    38 ms  210.49.49.29
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10    34 ms    43 ms    30 ms  59.154.142.114
 11    54 ms    37 ms    33 ms  161.43.81.142
 12    83 ms    47 ms    73 ms  po9.bqueedist02.aapt.net.au [202.10.14.40]
 13    69 ms    58 ms     *     te2-1-110.bqueedist01.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.144]
 14    66 ms    58 ms    58 ms  te0-3-4-0.bqueecore01.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.19]
 15    76 ms    49 ms    58 ms  te0-0-1-0.sglebcore01.aapt.net.au [202.10.10.67]
 16    66 ms    32 ms    66 ms  po12.sclardist02.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.4]
 17     *       82 ms    62 ms  5-1-1.sclarinte01.aapt.net.au [203.131.60.33]
 18    59 ms    70 ms    50 ms  59-100-239-14.syd.static-ipl.aapt.com.au [59.100.239.14]
 19    59 ms    68 ms    46 ms  ae-12.r20.sydnau02.au.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.9.13]

 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21    79 ms    47 ms    68 ms  sy4-sl-a21.fe.core.pw [92.223.48.21]

Trace complete.

 

 

Summary of 100 pings to wotasia3.login.wargaming.net....

 

Request timed out.
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=48
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=67ms TTL=48
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=48
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=48
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=48
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=48
Reply from 92.223.48.21: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=48

Ping statistics for 92.223.48.21:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 81, Lost = 19 (19% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 45ms, Maximum = 85ms, Average = 60ms

 

Due to packet loss, ping has also been adversely affected.

 

About 2 weeks ago I was experiencing huge ping rates, however there was no packet loss.  Below is was the tracert from 2 weeks ago....  Notice that the WoT server address has changed (I guess a cluster), however, the lines in red have changed, plus an extra hop is now present.

 

1 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms local.dovado.com [192.168.0.250] 

2 31 ms 27 ms 28 ms 192.168.8.1 
3 * * * Request timed out. 
4 40 ms 38 ms 38 ms 10.194.33.145 
5 48 ms 35 ms 38 ms 10.194.120.6 
6 40 ms 38 ms 39 ms 10.194.120.13 
7 74 ms 38 ms 48 ms 10.194.120.202 
8 46 ms 43 ms 28 ms 210.49.49.9 
9 * * * Request timed out. 
10 41 ms 48 ms 80 ms 59.154.142.112 
11 52 ms 36 ms 40 ms 161.43.81.142 
12 75 ms 69 ms 58 ms po9.bqueedist02.aapt.net.au [202.10.14.40] 
13 51 ms 57 ms 63 ms te0-3-1-0.bforvcore01.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.21] 
14 73 ms 59 ms 57 ms te0-0-1-0.sclarcore01.aapt.net.au [202.10.10.69] 
15 68 ms 55 ms 58 ms po11.sclardist01.aapt.net.au [202.10.12.2] 
16 * * * Request timed out.
 
17 60 ms 47 ms 50 ms 59-100-239-14.syd.static-ipl.aapt.com.au [59.100.239.14] 
18 198 ms 199 ms 198 ms ae-12.r20.sydnau02.au.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.9.13] 
19 * * * Request timed out. 
20 198 ms 186 ms 198 ms sy4-sl-a22.fe.core.pw [92.223.48.22]

 

Interestingly, doing an internet trace to ae-12.r20.sydnau02.au.bb.gin.ntt.net reveals something different.  Apparently this router is owned or managed by a US company NTT America Inc. See last attachment.  I am speculating here but thinking that WG uses NTT Communications for hosting and/or peering networks between countries. With this in mind, it could be that there are some issues with the BGP routing or peering or filtering policies from Optus sourced clients.  The hop to ae-12.r20.sydnau02.au.bb.gin.ntt.net is only one or two hops away from WoT servers so would appear could be on WoT management infrastructure.  But then again, it seems only Optus clients, no matter what sort of connection they use (NBN, cable, ADSL, 4G/LTE etc) are all experiencing the same packet loss issue, so it is more likely an Optus/AAPT fault somewhere on their Netscalar routers.

 

Hope they resolve these issues soon.  Such a pain.  SG server is pinging about 180-200 ms for me but it's totally playable with no packet loss as it routes a different direction.

 

Cheers

Judge-Dredd



BrutalOlyx #19 Posted 14 June 2018 - 11:18 PM

    Sergeant

  • Member
  • 27409 battles
  • 238
  • [BAMF] BAMF
  • Member since:
    06-05-2016

I am on Optus and / have had the same problem playing on the OZ server when not running my VPN service. The red light next to the ping flashed every second or two - unplayable.

 

But when I run my VyprVPN service, it runs smooth with little or no packet loss or ping spikes. That service specializes for gamers.

 

Choppy packet loss when running clear, smooth connection when running through encrypted VPN, very strange huh?

 

I can confirm by this that the WOT server is not to blame


Edited by BrutalOlyx, 14 June 2018 - 11:21 PM.


funkle17 #20 Posted 17 June 2018 - 02:21 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta-Tester
  • 17258 battles
  • 470
  • [LEFT] LEFT
  • Member since:
    09-18-2012

For reference this is what Im getting.  Im on Optus 4G.  Situated in the country between Adel an Melb.

 

Tracing route to wotasia3.login.wargaming.net [92.223.48.23]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     2 ms     2 ms     2 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    34 ms    24 ms    24 ms  10.194.35.81
  4    32 ms    21 ms    21 ms  10.194.126.2
  5    44 ms    24 ms    23 ms  10.194.126.9
  6     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  7    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  210.49.50.69
  8     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  9    25 ms    22 ms    24 ms  59.154.142.188
 10    23 ms    23 ms    21 ms  Bundle-Ether11.way33.adelaide.telstra.net [139.130.189.209]
 11    45 ms    23 ms    26 ms  bundle-ether8.way-core4.adelaide.telstra.net [203.50.11.152]
 12    36 ms    39 ms    41 ms  bundle-ether9.exi-core10.melbourne.telstra.net [203.50.11.93]
 13    68 ms    50 ms    53 ms  bundle-ether12.chw-core10.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.11.124]
 14    69 ms    55 ms    55 ms  bundle-ether1.chw-edge903.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.11.177]
 15    61 ms    56 ms    52 ms  ntt2943339.lnk.telstra.net [110.145.238.90]
 16    54 ms    52 ms    51 ms  ae-6.r00.sydnau04.au.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.9.180]
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18    60 ms    51 ms    48 ms  sy4-sl-a23.fe.core.pw [92.223.48.23]






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users