Okay this is ridiculous-why is this IS3 able to pen me everytime with AP while I'm using HEAT an...

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

Ero_Doujin_Daisuki #1 Posted 09 January 2019 - 10:14 AM

Corporal

• 7242 battles
  • [002] 002

I have 270 heat pen which is enough to go through his frontal armour everywhere. his 221 pen ap is the one that should have trouble penetrating my frontal armour.

Yeah Im a noob

HexHammer #2 Posted 09 January 2019 - 10:29 AM

Staff sergeant

• 33343 battles

The IS3 has spaced armor all along the side of it's hull, you will be very lucky to pen the side of an IS3 using heat actually. You hit the far side of the upper plate for an auto-ricochet, then hit the spaced armor on the side of the hull, then hit the tracks - that automaticaly absorbs HEAT.

There are many drawbacks to the IS3A, horrible mobility, horrible gun, meh camo and viewrange. And unreliable HEAT (compared to the IS3 APCR)

This will trigger the IS3A fanboys here. Perfect thread :)

Puggsley #3 Posted 09 January 2019 - 10:34 AM

Captain

• 67038 battles
  • [-1AR-] -1AR-

You are right, it is ridiculous.

You are giving the IS3 an unangled upper/lower plate/front drive wheel (170mm to 210mm effective armour) to shoot at with a gun with 225mm penetration and wondering why he penetrates you.

You are shooting the steeply angled upper plate (350mm effective armour) and wondering why 270mm of penetration is not enough. Then you shoot the spaced armour with HEAT and wonder why that doesn't go through.

tanks.gg will show you exactly why you were getting penned and you could not pen him.

Edited by Puggsley, 09 January 2019 - 10:36 AM.

Dieselnuts #4 Posted 09 January 2019 - 10:35 AM

Sergeant

• 13158 battles
  • [HMB] HMB
Pretty sure this video and BOlyx's reply just proved the IS3A isn't OP. Everyone move along.

Conan #5 Posted 09 January 2019 - 10:37 AM

Member and President of the Buff Arty Society

• Administrator
  • 10154 battles
  • [WG] WG